College of Arts and Sciences

Ancient Studies

Distinguished Lecturer Series

The Distinguished Lecturer Series seeks to provide a venue for faculty and students working on various areas of antiquity to explore common interests. The Program normally invites two major scholars a year whose interests cross traditional disciplinary boundaries. The scholars are chosen by a formal nomination process from the faculty. For the process, each nomination shall be a co-nomination by faculty members from at least two different departments. The lectures are of broad interest to students and faculty members. Each visitor will present a public lecture and meet with interested students and faculty during his or her visit.

Distinguished Lecturers (2016-2017 academic year)

Fall 2016

Greg Woolf
Institute of Classical Studies
September 12, 4 p.m.
Maple Room, Indiana Memorial Union

Migration and Metropoleis in the Ancient Mediterranean World
Many accounts of the greatest ancient cities - Rome, Alexandria, Antioch on the Orontes to name just three - draw heavily on analogy with the largest cities of early modern Europe and the global megacities of the last two centuries. We imagine them as melting pots, cosmopolitan, creative and dangerously chaotic environments. In this talk, Professor Woolf offers an alternative view of ancient metropoleis, based partly on consideration of their place in ancient civic hierarchies and also on a raft of new studies of migration around the classical world. The result has implications for religious change, economic life, and the social fabric of these centers, and the urban networks of which they formed a part.

Spring 2017

Adrienne Mayor
April 3, 4:00-6:00 p.m.
The College Arts and Humanities Institute, 1211 East Atwater Avenue

Past Distinguished Lecturers:

  • Oliver Taplin (Oxford)
  • Shane Buttler (Johns Hopkins)
  • Willeke Wendrich (UCLA)
  • William Harris (Columbia)
  • Richard Talbert (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
  • Dale Kinney (Bryn Mawr College)
  • Susan E. Alcock (University of Michigan)
  • Shadi Bartsch (University of Chicago)
  • Mary T. Boatwright (Duke)
  • Glen W. Bowersock (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)
  • Alan Cameron (Columbia)
  • John Dillon (Trinity College, Dublin)
  • Katherine Dunbabin (McMaster)
  • Robin Lane Fox (Oxford)
  • Christopher Gill (University of Exeter, UK)
  • Maud Gleason (Berkeley)
  • Fritz Graf (Ohio State University)
  • A. A. Long (Berkeley)
  • Joseph Manning (Yale)
  • Ian Morris (Stanford)
  • Josiah Ober (Stanford University)
  • James Porter (California, Irvine)
  • Richard Saller (Standford)
  • Brent Shaw (Princeton)
  • Lawrence Stager (Harvard
  • Raymond Van Dam (Michigan)
  • Heinrich von Staden (Institute of Advanced Study, Princeton)