College of Arts and Sciences

Ancient Studies

Colloquia Series

This bimonthly gathering seeks to provide a forum for faculty and students (graduate and undergraduate) of various aspects of antiquity to discuss areas of common interest, to learn about interdisciplinary projects of IU faculty, and to engage with scholars from outside I.U. whose work bridges multiple fields. While this is primarily an "in-house" series, we seek to bring in one outside speaker each semester to broaden our awareness of approaches to the ancient world.

Fall 2015

September 11
Christopher Beckwith, Central Eurasian Studies
Topic: "Source of the Classical Revolution? The Scythians, Medes, and Zoroaster"
2:30 p.m.
Ballantine Hall 015

December 4
Cynthia Bannon, Classical Studies
Topic: "Beyond Public and Private: Fresh Water in Roman Law"
2:30 p.m.
Ballantine Hall 344

Spring 2016

January 29
William Hansen, Classical Studies
Topic: "Exploring Genre in Ancient Oral Narrative"
2:30 p.m.

March 4
Margaret Foster, Classical Studies
Topic: "A Winter's Paian: Generic Interdependence and Autonomy in Bacchylides 16"
2:30 p.m.

Previous Outside Speakers:

  • Gary Farney (Rutgers)
  • Raymond Person (Ohio Northern University)
  • Björn and Jeannette Forsén (The Finnish Institute at Athens)
  • James Francis (University of Kentucky)
  • Richard Frye (Harvard University)
  • Campbell Grey (University of Chicago)
  • Clayton Jefford (St. Meinrad School of Theology)
  • Noel Lenski (University of Colorado)
  • John Matthews (Yale University)
  • Scott McGill (Rice University)
  • Martha Nussbaum (University of Chicago)
  • James O'Donnel (Georgetown University)
  • Josiah Osgood (Georgetown University)
  • Dennis Trout (University of Missouri-Columbia)
  • Dov Weiss (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
  • Terry G. Wilfong (University of Michigan)